skip to content

Calor League Division 1 South & West

Evesham United 2 - 3 Cirencester Town

Cirencester Town were at Evesham United for this league match on a very windy afternoon.

Cirencester were without Jamie Edge who has moved to Hereford and was replaced with James Mortimer-Jones, otherwise the team was unchanged from that which lost at home last week to Yate fc.

Cirencester were playing with the wind behind them in the first half, and took the lead in the 7th minute after receiving a back pass and with Aidan Bennett bearing down on him, keeper John Bateman kicked away under pressure from the edge of the box which dropped at the feet of James Mortimer–Jones some 30 yards out, and seeing the keeper off his line he lobbed the ball over him and into the far corner of the net.

Evesham had their 1st attempt of the game in the 20th minute with a long-range shot over the bar from former Centurion Carl Brown. Minutes later Mortimer-Jones took a knock, which he could not recover from and was replaced by Joe Shephard.

Ciren had a excellent chance of increasing the lead after good play between Steve Davies and Lee Smith. It was Davies who switched the play feeding a good ball down the left. Smith showed good skill with his control before turning the defender and sending in a cross to the back post which saw Bennett misjudge with the keeper collecting.

Ciren did add to their lead in the 34th minute when a long kick from Glyn Garner deceived the Evesham defence with the ball bouncing over Linden Dovey. Smith was quick to react to seeing the opportunity and latched onto the ball with just the keeper to beat before Jared Wilson bought him down from behind. Referee Chris Husband pointed to the spot and then the 237 spectators waited for the ‘’must be’’ red card. However the ref showed a yellow. Steve Davies took the penalty sending the keeper the wrong way - 2-0 to Ciren.

H.T. Evesham 0-2 Cirencester.

The second half started and it was very noticeable how much the wind had increased, Evesham had two early chances with Brown having two one-on-ones with Garner but on both occasions misjudged the speed of the ball due to the strong wind. He nearly made amends after hitting a ferocious shot that had Garner scrambling back and finger tipping the ball over for a corner.

For the first 15 min’s it was all Evesham who were throwing everything ay Ciren bar the kitchen sink! Ciren made their 2nd substitution when Shayne Bumphrey replaced Brad Hooper.

With all the pressure that Evesham was piling on, a goal was sure to come and it did in the 37th min when from a corner the ball fell at the feet of Carl Brown whose shot squeezed inside the near post.

It was now game on! With Evesham looking to level the score and it was against the run of play that saw Lee Smith burst into the 18 yard box. He dropped his shoulder and left his marker before picking a spot and firing his shot past the keeper reinstating Ciren’s two goal advantage.

Ciren made their final substitution with Jacob Davidge replacing Aidan Bennett.

Ciren were down to ten men in the 89th min after Ben Prictor made a tackle in the box on Ed Williams which the ref judged as being a penalty and showed Prictor his 2nd yellow quickly followed by a red. Richard Mansell steeped up and hit down the middle with Garner diving to his left.

Minutes later the game ended with Cirencester taking three points with a 3-2 win.

Attendance: 223

Referee: Chris Husband

Next match is the big local Boxing Day derby match at home to Swindon Supermarine. Kick Off is at 3pm.

Evesham United:

1.   John Bateman
2.   Jared Wilson
3.   Richard Mansell
4.   Mitchell Botfield
5.   Allton Axton
6.   Lindon Dovey
7.   Lee Davis
8.   Elliott Kennedy ( Mike Tambling 87),
9.   Carl Brown
10. James Verseci (Palmer 69)
11. Ed Williams

12. Lance Smith   (on for Mitchell Botfield - 64 mins)
14. Michael Tambling   (on for Elliott Kennedy - 87 mins)
15. Marcus Palmer   (on for James Vercesi - 69 mins)
16. Adam Millard
17. Louie Barnfather 


Cirencester Town:

1.   Glyn Garner
2.   Shayne Anson (C)
3.   Ben Prictor
4.   James Mortimer-Jones
5.   Ellis Dunton
6.   Leigh Henry
7.   Brad Hooper
8.   Sean Wood
9.   Aidan Bennett
10. Steve Davies
11. Lee Smith

12. Jody Bevan
14. Jacob Davidge   (on for Aidan Bennett - 86 mins)_
15. Shane Bumphrey   (on for Brad Hooper - 60 mins)
16. Dean Bromley
17. Joe Shepherd   (on for James Mortimer-Jones - 23 mins) 



Cirencester Town FC © 2011 - 2022