skip to content

FA Trophy 1st Round Qualfiying

Egham Town 3 - 2 Cirencester Town

Match Report by Andy Buchan

Cirencester Town suffered a week of FA cup misery, after a home defeat to Weymouth in the FA cup which could have gone either way and it was now time for the FA Trophy with a journey down the M4 to face Egham Town at the Runnymede Stadium.

Cirencester were without Brad Hooper who has an injured elbow, and Aidan Bennett started up front, with Sam Collier on the bench, otherwise the team was unchanged.

There was hardly time for the supporters to take their seats before the first goal in the 2nd minute after a quick break down the right saw Patrick Craig send in a low cross which caught the Ciren defence cold as Jamie Houghton made no mistake planting a powerful header past Glyn Garner.

Ciren were not stunned for long as they immediately went looking for the equalizer, Bennett started the next frenzied 25 minutes of play with a penetrating run down the left

Seeing his attempt deflected for a corner, from the corner a Chris Holland header was also deflected for another corner, which was taken high by the Sarnies Keeper Gary Ross.

Ciren continued the onslaught with Steve Davies firing wide of the top corner followed by a sprint down the right from Lee Smith who accelerated into the box. Just as he was about to shoot he was brought down but ‘’cries of penalty’ were dismissed by referee Jonathon Hollier.

Cirencester had a free kick, which was floated, into the Sarnies danger area being cleared out as far as Bennett who hit a pile driver from 30 yards, which scraped the top of the bar.

In the 24th minute Ciren went down to a second goal after Holland passed back to Garner without pace which was pounced on by the speedy Louis Chandler-Joseph who buried the ball firmly into the Ciren net.

4 minutes later Ciren pulled one back when Smith jinxed his way forward into the right side of the box, picked his spot and fired a right footed shot into the far corner giving the home keeper no chance.

Egham regained their two goal advantage 5 mins later after more hesitation in the Ciren defence, Ryan O’Toole had plenty of time to run along the front of the Ciren box before unleashing a right foot shot which smashed into the Ciren net.

However there was still more to come after a tremendous run from Smith on the left, he saw the keeper off his line and calmly lobbed him from 18 yards reducing the deficit back to one.

On the stroke of half-time Ciren had this last opportunity to level after Bennett pushed a good ball into the path of Steve Davies his one touch and shot was fumbled by the keeper but regained before Davies could get in another shot.

Halftime; Egham Town 3-2 Cirencester Town.

Cirencester made a change at the halftime interval with Jon Beedon replacing Chris Holland.

The second half start was almost a repeat of the first, but this time in Ciren’s favour when Bennett in the 2nd minute of the restart fired a shot from 30 yards which was destined for the top right corner but for a fine finger tip save over the bar from Ross.

The remainder of the second half was not to be the end-to-end stuff of the first half with few goal scoring opportunities, Ciren made a double substitution in the 59th min bringing off Bennett and Sean Wood who were replaced with Jody Bevan and Sam Collier.

The substitutions did not have the desired effect and the game fizzled out with Egham Town winning 3-2 and going through to the next round.

Out of both cups in the past week, this now leaves Ciren to push on in the league and hopefully gain promotion.

Attendance: 48

Referee: Jonathan Hollier

Egham Town:

1.  Gary Ross
2.  Joshua Andrews
3.  Jake Gailbraith,
4.  Kyle Anthony
5.  Chris Ellis
6.  Maurice Harkin 
7.  Patrick Craig
8.  Jamie Houghton
9.  Shane Graham
10. Ryan O'Toole
11. Louis Chandler-Joseph

12. Joe Chandiram (on for Patrick Craig - 67 mins)
14. Luke Muldowney
15. Arran Taylor-Ives
16. Brendon Matthews (on for Ryan O'Toole - 67 mins)
17. Joel Jacobs

Cirencester Town:

1.  Glyn Garner
2.  Shayne Anson (C)
3.  Ben Prictor
4.  James Mortimer-Jones
5.  Chris Holland
6.  Leigh Henry
7.  Ellis Dunton
8.  Sean Wood
9.  Aidan Bennett
10. Steve Davies
11. Lee Smith

12. Sam Collier (on for Sean Wood - 61 mins)
14. Jon Beedon
(on for Chris Holland - 45 mins)
15. Jody Bevan (on for Aidan Bennett - 61 mins)
16. Dean Bromley 

Cirencester Town FC © 2011 - 2021