skip to content

Newsletter Sign up

Corinium Facilities

Centurion Football

Our Sponsors

  • Bluestone Insurance Services
  • Mainstream digital
  • Cirecester Vape
  • Spire House
  • Subway Cirencester
  • Direct Business Solutions
  • Costwold Water Park Hotel
  • Clarity Solutions
  • David M.Coe Financial Planning
  • McDonalds Cirencester

Calor League Division 1 S&W

Swindon Supermarine 3 - 2 Cirencester Town 

On the back of a disappointing home defeat on Saturday, Cirencester travelled 25 miles up the A419 to take on our neighbours Swindon Supermarine.

Cirencester were without four key players with Wells, Davies, Henry and Holland all out injured, Aidan moved to left back with Ellis Dunton going into the middle alongside Jon Beedon. Sam Collier was making his first start of the season.

It was a glorious afternoon with a healthy size crowd. Unfortunately the Webbswood Stadium was infested with wasps, which was slightly off-putting.

The ‘marine were quick out of the blocks and saw a shot fizz past the nearside post in the 1st minute.

Six minutes later they took the lead after a right-footed shot from Rob Dean on the right beat Ciren keeper Gyn Garner into the far corner.

Two minutes later it was two-nil, from a ball threaded down the left from Josh Morse into the path of Ashley Edenborough who ran into the penalty area before knocking the ball in from two yards.

It was all ‘Marine for the first 25 mins with Ciren still to have a shot and test the opposing keeper.

Ciren were now starting to play some decent football with nice passing from the defence for Anson who knocked the ball on for Joe Shepherd whose cross was cleared for a corner.

Ciren thought they had got one back after a goalmouth scramble saw a Ciren shot blocked on the line and cleared.

Minutes later Will Morford from 25 yards saw his well hit shot pushed out by Kent Kauppinen only as far as Lee Smith who took on the defender. As he went past him, he was pulled to the ground, and the referee did not hesitate in awarding Ciren a penalty. Lee Smith stood up and buried it in the left hand corner of the net.

In the 38th min with ‘Marine clearing up-field James Mortimer-Jones clipped the foot of Rob Dean who retaliated by kicking him, yellow card for M-Jones and a red for Dean.

In the final five minutes Ciren had the best of the play and must have been well pleased to go in at half time only one down.

H.T. 2-1

Ciren started well in the second half with Morford showing good skill and, after receiving a sweet pass from Bennett, Morford turned Kyle Lapham and fired in a penetrating cross, which Kauppinen could not hold. The ball squeezed out to Mortimer-Jones whose shot was cleared. Marine the ball moved quickly up the pitch and, with Garner off his lin,e the lobbed shot came back off the bar.

Ciren made three substitutions with Dean Bromley replacing Bennett, Jody Bevan on for Mat Liddiard and Brad Hopper on for the injured Anson.

In the 29th minute Ciren levelled the match after another searing run into the box from Smith and again he was fouled with the ref instantly pointing to the spot, it was Smith again to take his time, sending Kauppinen the wrong way.

The game was there for Ciren’s taking and it nearly came when Bevan found himself with only the keeper to beat only to see his shot whistle past the near post.

The game seemed destined to be a draw with only a few minutes remaining, however there was another twist in the tail waiting around the corner. After an innocuous ball down the right hand side, Bromley was happy for the ball to go out for a Ciren throw in, but the ‘Marine player challenging him had other ideas and pinched the ball off him, got to the by-line sending in a low cross which arrived at the back post and from a yard out Luke Abrahart made no mistake firing into an empty net much to the relief of the home support.


F.T. 3-2 to Supermarine

Attendance: 246

Referee: Samuel Ogles

Swindon Supermarine: 

1. Kent Kauppinen
2. Kyle Lapham (C)
3. Danny Allen
4. Craig Curtis
5. Jon Steedman
6. Sam Morris
7. Dan Hilder
8. Rob Dean
9. Ashley Edenborough
10. Kayden Jackson
11. Josh Morse 

12. Dan Wallington
14. Ben Whitehead 
15. Harry Etheridge
16. Gio Wrona
17. Luke Abrahart

Cirencester Town:

1. Glyn Garner
2. Shayne Anson (C)
3. Ellis Dunton 
4. James Mortimer-Jones
5. Aidan Bennett
6. Jon Beedon
7. Joe Shepherd
8. Matt Liddiard
9. Will Morford
10. Sam Collier
11. Lee Smith

12. Brad Hooper (on for Matt Liddiard - 62 mins)
14. Dean Bromley (on for Aidan Bennett - 62 mins)
15. Jody Bevan (on for Shayne Anson - 72 mins) 
16. Jack Smith 

Cirencester Town FC © 2011 - 2023