skip to content

Newsletter Sign up

Corinium Facilities

Centurion Football

Our Sponsors

  • Total Teamwear
  • Statehouse Financial Advisors
  • Subway Cirencester
  • McDonalds Cirencester
  • Spire House
  • Tiger Turf
  • David M.Coe Financial Planning
  • Thifty Car and Van Rental
  • SpecSavers
  • Mainstream digital

Evo-Stik League Southern D1 S&W

Cirencester Town 0 - 1 Poole Town

Match Report by Andy Buchan

Cirencester were entertaining Poole Town FC at Corinium Stadium for this final game of the 2012/13 season.

It was a busy day at the Corinium with many cup matches taking place on the back pitches and a healthy following for Poole Town, with a crowd of over 300 it had the making of an enjoyable afternoon's football.

Cirencester had the services of Ellis Dunton who was returning after his three match ban.

For the first half, Ciren were playing into a stiff breeze, but it was however Ciren who got off to the best start after a good run down the left from Aidan Bennett who took on and beat two defenders and then delivered the ball into the box for Sam Collier to hit a left footed shot which was saved by the Poole keeper Nick Hutchings.

It was Bennett again who made his way into the Poole area on the left and from 12 yards hit a ferocious shot which came back to him off a defender. He hit it again and on this occasion it was deflected for a corner. Ben Wells sent his corner kick high and Jon Beedon out jumped Hutchings only to see his headed attempt go wide.

Michael Walker the Poole captain was winning everything in the air which had a lot to do with him being 6 foot 7!. Amazingly from a throw in Scott Griffin who is a foot shorter out jumped him and nodded it onto Brad Hooper who then turned and knocked it into the path of Collier whose goal attempt was just wide.

30 minutes had now passed and against the wind Ciren were playing the better football and having more chances. Poole had their first real chance in the 35th min from a free kick 25 yards out. Warren Byerley ran over the ball and Steve Devlin followed and smashed his low shot through the wall only to find the ever reliable Glyn Garner in the Ciren goal beat the attempt away as far Beedon who threaded the ball into Collier for him to hold it up and lay it off to Bennett whose first time shot seemed to shank off his left boot which was more likely down to the wind and a bumpy pitch.

Approaching half time, Poole had a free kick from 50 yards and with the strong wind Steve Devlin hit the ball at goa.l No-one heard the ref whistle for the kick to be taken, especially Garner who was still marshalling the wall. He backpedalled and got a hand to it pushing the ball onto the bar which came back down and over the line giving Poole the lead.

The second half was all Ciren who pummelled the Poole defence but could not find a route through.

In the 68th minute, Ciren made two changes with Tim Bond and Joe Shepherd replacing Hooper and Griffin.

It was in the 75th minute that Ciren had their first chance of the half. Bennett made an impressive run down the left dribbling past two defenders down to the by-line and then squaring the ball into Collier who from 6 yards saw his left footed shot fly over the bar.

In the 79th minute Ciren made another substitution bringing off Collier for Jamie Reid.

The remainder of the game was all Ciren but they were unable to find a way through the Poole defence and test the keeper.

Final Score Cirencester 0-1 Poole.

The Four Pillars Hotel  Man of the Match Award was chosen by the Sponsors who awarded it to Aidan Bennett.

Attendance: 234

Referee: Adam Baylis

Cirencester Town:

1. Glyn Garner
2. Shayne Anson (C)
3. Ellis Dunton
4. Jon Beedon
5. Leigh Henry
6. James Mortimer-Jones
7. Brad Hooper
8. Ben Wells
9. Sam Collier
10. Scott Griffin
11. Aidan Bennett

12. Jamie Reid (on for Sam Collier 81 mins)
14. Joe Shepherd (on for Scott Griffin - 68 mins)
15. Tim Bond (on for Brad Hooper - 68 mins)

Poole Town:

1. Nick Hutchings
2. Luke Burbidge
3. Will Spetch 
4. Sam Clarke
5. Michael Walker (C)
6. Marvin Brooks
7. Adam Kelly
8. Steve Devlin
9. Warren Byerley
10. Carl Preston
11. Dan Cann

12. Steve Richardson 
14. Lamin Dibba
15. Steve Brown
16. Jacob Cane
17. Michael Charles 




Cirencester Town FC © 2011 - 2023