skip to content

Newsletter Sign up

Corinium Facilities

Centurion Football

Our Sponsors

  • Spire House
  • Costwold Water Park Hotel
  • Statehouse Financial Advisors
  • David M.Coe Financial Planning
  • Murfitts/PRO-gran
  • Bluestone Insurance Services
  • Tiger Turf
  • Networld Sports
  • Cirecester Vape
  • Subway Cirencester

Evo-Stik League Southern D1 S&W

Cirencester Town 0 - 0 Swindon Supermarine

After a 10 am pitch inspection, the referee gave the go ahead for this local derby at the Corinium Stadium against our Swindon rivals Swindon Supermarine.

In August Ciren shared the spoils when we visited Webbs Wood Stadium, since then Supermarine have hit a purple patch, climbing up to third place with Ciren going in the opposite direction.

With fine weather and a good crowd of 171, expectations were high for this Evo-Stik S&W division one match.

For the first 20 minutes Ciren piled on the pressure with Ben Wells hitting a rocket of a shot from 35 yards which just cleared the bar and both Aiden Bennett and Ellis Dunton were putting in good runs down the flanks hitting in some good balls. However, and unfortunately for Ciren, Kent Kaupinnan was in fine form in the Supermarine goal, collecting all the high crosses.

It was in the 29th min that Dave Evans had his first real test, after a shot from 12 yards by Ashley Edenborough. 7 minutes later he made another excellent save from a Danny Hilder shot.

Minutes later George Washbourne struck a left footed shot which was deflected  over the bar for a Ciren corner. The remainder of the first half was played out with Ciren being the more attacking team however the first half finished goalless.

The second half saw Supermarine come out of the starting blocks winning two early corners. In the 51st minute Wells hit a powerful cross into the penalty area there was a big appeal of hand ball which the ref ignored.

This was as expected a very competitive game being played on a soggy pitch with no quarter given. The best chance of the match came in the 69th minute when a cross from Dunton found the head of Joe Shepherd who from 6 yards powered his headed attempt over the bar.

Two minutes later Ciren made two substitutions bringing on Scott Griffin and Sam Collier for Sam Packer and George Washbourne.

In the 75th minute Josh Parsons after a well placed shot from 20 yards brought out another great save from Evans. In the 81st minute Ciren replaced Joe Shepherd with Brad Hooper.

In the dying minutes of the game, Bennett made a great run down the right side, leaving the defence for dead, advancing to goal with only the keeper to beat when he was bought down from behind by Danny Allen who received a yellow card. The free kick from the edge of the box was comfortably caught in the safe hands of Kaupinnan.

The game finished 0-0 and on reflection it was an even match with a draw being a fair result.

It was a tough decision picking the outstanding Ciren player, as the whole team played well, but, with two clean sheets in the last two games now under his belt, Dave Evans got the nod from the supporters' vote and was presented with the Four Pillars Hotel Man of the Match award.

Bookings: Cirencester - Packer. Swindon Supermarine – Bampton and Allen

Attendance: 171

Referee: Simon Brown

Cirencester Town:

1. David Evans
2, Aidan Bennett
3. Ellis Dunton 
4. Ricky Allaway (C)
5. Leigh Henry
6. Chris Thompson
7. Ben Wells
8. Joe Shepherd
9. Sam Packer
10. George Washbourne
11. James Mortimer-Jones

12. Scott Griffin (on for Sam Packer - 68 mins)
14. Nathan Hawkins 
15. Brad Hooper (on for Joe Shepherd - 80 mins)
16. Sam Collier (on for George Washbourne - 68 mins)
17. Jon Beedon

Swindon Supermarine: 

1. Kent Kaupinnan
2. Kyle Lapham
3. Danny Allen
4. Craig Curtis
5. Dave Bampton (C)
6. Chris Taylor
7. Sam Morris
8. Harry Etheridge
9. Ashley Edenborough
10. Josh Parsons
11. Danny Hilder

12. Rob Dean
14. Jamie Prictor
15. Jon Steadman
16. Josh Fowler
17. Lee Spalding 


Next game, we are away to Didcot Town on Saturday 5th January - Kick Off: 3pm



Cirencester Town FC © 2011 - 2023