skip to content

Newsletter Sign up

Corinium Facilities

Centurion Football

Our Sponsors

  • Direct Business Solutions
  • David M.Coe Financial Planning
  • Mainstream digital
  • Cirecester Vape
  • Statehouse Financial Advisors
  • Tiger Turf
  • Spire House
  • SpecSavers
  • Costwold Water Park Hotel
  • Murfitts/PRO-gran

'The Centurions' return from the forest with a point.

Evo-Stik Southern League 2018/19

Division 1 South


Cinderford Town  1 – 1  Cirencester Town

Cirencester snatched a late equaliser to return from The Forest of Dean with a point after a competitive encounter with Cinderford Town.

‘The Foresters’ took the 3 points at The Corinium Stadium in the second game of the season with a goal 5 minutes into ‘added-time’ so this was always going to be a hard fought contest and so it proved.

In a game of the proverbial ‘two halves’ Cirencester had the better of the possession in the first period but were unable to make it pay whilst their hosts were more threatening after the break and with less than ten scheduled minutes remaining Cinderford finally broke the ‘dead-lock’.

With both defences in defiant mood there were few clear chances created and it was a free kick that led to the opening goal when, following an aerial challenge,  JAMES HARDING latched onto the ball as it dropped inside the Cirencester penalty area to round Mat Wieczorek as he advanced and slot into the vacant net.

Despite this setback Cirencester stuck to their task to level in the 89th minute when Ben Whitehead delivered a cross from the right flank to ALAN GRIFFIN, just outside the 6 yard box, and he produced a deft header that dropped inside the left post to salvage a late point.

The result ensured Cirencester remained in the ‘play-off’ position of 4th.


Click here to read Dave Pyzer's match report.

This entry was posted on 13 January 2019 at 02:24 and is filed under First Team | Miscellaneous. You can leave a response here.

Bookmark with:

  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon

Leave a Reply


(Required, not published)

Cirencester Town FC © 2011 - 2020