skip to content

Newsletter Sign up

Corinium Facilities

Centurion Football

Our Sponsors

  • Exceed Personal Training
  • Clarity Solutions
  • Networld Sports
  • Gardiner Haskins Cirencester
  • Tiger Turf
  • Sollertis
  • Murfitts/PRO-gran
  • Mainstream digital
  • Bluestone Insurance Services
  • SpecSavers

Go West! Evesham United win FA appeal over league switch

EVESHAM United will remain in Southern League West having won an appeal over a proposed lateral movement.

The Robins, initially allocated to Southern League East for 2018-19, teamed up with Didcot Town in a bid to swap divisions after the Oxfordshire outfit had been told they would be staying west.

Football Association (FA) chiefs confirmed today the request had been granted with Didcot calculating a 600-mile reduction in travelling.

The difference to Evesham's journeys will be minimal but Chairman Jim Cockerton expressed his relief with the many of United's squad based in Gloucestershire and west of the club's Jubilee Stadium headquarters.

"Common sense has prevailed," said Cockerton.

"We are over the moon with the result, it suits us down to the ground. People don't always consider things like the locations of the players but that was a big thing.

"Hopefully we can challenge to win the league next season. We want to go for it but know it will be tough, Southern League football always is. I am pleased."

Divisions at Evesham's level have been reduced to 20 from 22 clubs over the summer with eight departures from and six new entrants into Southern League West

Out go promoted trio Taunton Town, Salisbury and play-off winners Swindon Supermarine. Bishop's Cleeve got relegated, Shortwood United took voluntary relegation and Kidlington, North Leigh and Didcot switched to Southern League East.

There are five promoted clubs with Southampton-based Blackfield & Langley coming up as Wessex League champions, Highworth Town and FA Vase winners Thatcham Town arriving from the Hellenic League and Street and Melksham Town stepping up from the Western League.

Portsmouth-based Moneyfields transfer from what was Southern League Central.

Southern League West provisional line-up: AFC Totton, Barnstaple Town, Bideford, Blackfield & Langley, Bristol Manor Farm, Cinderford Town, Cirencester Town, Evesham United, Highworth Town, Larkhall Athletic, Mangotsfield United, Melksham Town, Moneyfields, Paulton Rovers, Slimbridge, Street, Thatcham Town, Wimborne Town, Winchester City, Yate Town.

This entry was posted on 24 May 2018 at 09:18 and is filed under First Team. You can leave a response here.

Bookmark with:

  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon

Leave a Reply


(Required, not published)

Cirencester Town FC © 2011 - 2023