skip to content

Newsletter Sign up

Corinium Facilities

Centurion Football

Our Sponsors

  • SpecSavers
  • Clarity Solutions
  • Cirecester Vape
  • Statehouse Financial Advisors
  • Networld Sports
  • David M.Coe Financial Planning
  • Direct Business Solutions
  • Tiger Turf
  • Murfitts/PRO-gran
  • Total Teamwear

Cirencester secure first win of 2016/17 Season against Biggleswade.


Cirencester Town  1 - 0  Biggleswade Town

Cirencester secured their first 3 points of the new season in their third fixture with a home victory against Biggleswade Town.

The home side started positively - moving the ball down both flanks and often switching play from one side to the other with controlled passing - and put early pressure on their visitors who were dangerous on the break with their tall striker Inih Effiong often in the thick of the action.

Around the half hour mark the pressure from Cirencester resulted in a series of corner kicks but Biggleswade survived.

As the half was drawing to a close Cirencester increased the pressure and Scott Bevan had a fierce drive from the left flank tipped over the bar by ‘keeper Ian Brown.

On the hour mark BEN BROWN scored the only goal of the match with a glancing header inside the right post from a Lee Smith free kick.  

Shortly afterwards the Biggleswade ‘keeper was left exposed when Charlie Griffin latched onto a ball over his defence and he did well to push the resulting firm strike wide of his right post.

Despite plenty of possession Cirencester were unable to add a further goal but they will undoubtedly be pleased to have got off the mark.


Click here to read Dave Pyzer's match report.


The next fixture is an away match against DORCHESTER TOWN that is scheduled to kick-off at 7.45 pm on Tuesday 16th August.


This entry was posted on 14 August 2016 at 16:02 and is filed under First Team | Miscellaneous. You can leave a response here.

Bookmark with:

  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon

Leave a Reply


(Required, not published)

Cirencester Town FC © 2011 - 2020