skip to content

Newsletter Sign up

Corinium Facilities

Centurion Football

Our Sponsors

  • Costwold Water Park Hotel
  • Networld Sports
  • Direct Business Solutions
  • McDonalds Cirencester
  • Sollertis
  • Total Teamwear
  • Tiger Turf
  • Statehouse Financial Advisors
  • SpecSavers
  • Murfitts/PRO-gran

Cirencester lose to high-flying Chippenham.


Cirencester Town  1 - 4  Chippenham Town

The Cirencester pitch was declared fit for the match against 2nd placed Chippenham to take place, following an 11.00a.m. pitch inspection, and from noon onwards the rain was continuous to make playing conditions extremely difficult for the players as they struggled to keep their feet.

Chippenham opened the scoring when MATT SMITH volleyed a cross from Andy Sandell home at the back post.

Cirencester responded six minutes later with a 25 yard thunderbolt from AIDAN BENNETT that flew into the net.

The Bluebirds regained the lead on the half hour as a long throw was flicked on to the back post for JAMES GUTHRIE to tap in from 2 yards.

As the half was drawing to a close Chippenham doubled their lead when a long punt downfield was collected by ANDY SANDELL who rounded Glyn Garner outside his box to move into the penalty area and place his shot inside the left post.

The Bluebirds scored again early in the second half when a Chris Allen free kick cannoned off the Cirencester bar and as it came down ALAN GRIFFIN was quickest to the ball to finish from a yard out.  

The Centurions nearly pulled a goal back following a goal-mouth melee but the referee decided it had not crossed the line and play continued and Chippenham cleared the danger.

Cirencester continued to battle but Chippenham ran out comfortable winners.


Click here to read Dave Pyzer's match report.


This entry was posted on 02 January 2016 at 23:06 and is filed under First Team | Miscellaneous. You can leave a response here.

Bookmark with:

  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon

Leave a Reply


(Required, not published)

Cirencester Town FC © 2011 - 2019